District 12 Inner Wheel


Chairman 2019/20: PDC Ruth Portway

It would be wrong to call this a Club within a Club, but there is a group of ladies who meet approx. quarterly over lunch to maintain their links of friendship. Each one has given her time and expertise to maintain and develop the ethos of District 12 and each one has treasured memories of her time in office. We can boast a membership of 26 dating back to 1976. We are often asked what we find to talk about - but talking has never been a problem for us! The truth of the matter is that we talk about virtually anything OTHER than Inner Wheel. 

Sadly, we too have been affected by the recent lockdown, but we nurture our friendships from afar and look forward to the day when we can meet again.

We have rejoiced at the presentation of a well-deserved Margarette Golding award to one of our circle members. Congratulations, Betty!

17 of our members met together in July via Zoom for an Afternoon Tea and enjoyed an update on their fellow members' activities, before managing to chat in smaller, randomly selected groups.  It was time well spent and enjoyed by all.

District 12 Chairmen from 1932 to the present day

1932-1934  Mrs. Webber  1934-1936  Mrs. Price1936-1938  Mrs. Billingham

1938-1939  Vera Rice  1939-1942  Mrs. Valon  1942-1943 Mrs. Austen

1943-1945  Mrs. Lumley-Robinson  1945-1946  Mrs. Wilkinson  1946-1947  Mrs. Lack  1947-1948   Mrs. Fletcher  1948-1949  Mrs. H. Featherstone   1949-1950    Mrs. A.F. Mullock  1950-1951Mrs.  J.T. Davison  1951-1952  Mrs. T.C. McIlroy1952-1953  Mrs. H.E. Kettle

1953-1954  Mrs. H. Lester  1954-55  Mrs. Sylvia Moore 1955-56 Mrs H Cloke
1956-57  Mrs C.M. Bradley  1957-58 Mrs L.A. Gripper

1958-59 Mrs. L. Lack    1959-1960  Mrs. D.C. Hammond-Williams 
1960-1961 Mrs. Ivy Bowen   
1961-1962 Mrs. K. Campbell-Mackenzie 
1962-1963  Mrs. D. Anderson 
1963-1964  Mrs. F. Newman 
1964-1965  Mrs. D.S. Maclachlan  
1965-66  Mrs. Violet Barden  

1966-1967 Mrs. H. Smith 1967-68  Mrs. Elsie Kean 1968-69 Mrs.  Thelma Heddle

1969-1970 Mrs. Lena Morton 1970-1971 Mrs. R. Proudler 1971-72 Mrs. Sybil Hole 1972-1973  Mrs. H. Hail  1973-74  Mrs. Freda Oakes 1974-1975  Mrs. M.Chatfield 

1975-76  Mrs. Eda Lord  1976-1977  Betty Selfe  1977-78   Audrey Hammond

1978-1979  Audrey Sarjeant  1979-80  Jean Jolliffe 1980-81 Mrs. Kay Polley
1981-82  Min Gutteridge  1982-83  Jan Wicks   1983-84  Ann Smith

1984-85 Valerie Blackman 1985-86 Mrs. Kathleen Vesey   1986-87  Rita Walsh

1987-88  Valerie Martin 1988-89  Yvonne Khan  1989-90  Barbara Barber 

1990-91 Aline Boswell  1991-92 Joan Pettit 1992-93 Wendy Smith 

1993-94  Elizabeth Weaver  1994-95  Pat Stokes-Mason (Robson)  1995-96  Joan Knight  1996-97  Edna Bennett  1997-98  Gwen Banks  1998-1999  Diana Taplin 

1999-2000  Ann Dunmore  2000-2001  Barbara Bingham

2001-2002  Freda Hampson  2002-2003  Pauline Knill 
2003-2004  Marion Luckhurst  2004-2005  Valerie Procter  

2005-2006  Elizabeth Jackson   2006-2007  Patricia Fletcher

2007-2008  Beryl Pendlebury-Green (Simmonds)  2008-2009  Sheila Cragg 

2009-2010  Margaret Hawkins  2010-2011  Frances Allen  2011-2012  Elizabeth Martin  2012-2013  Lynn O'Meara  2013-2014  Judith Cooper  2014-2015   Sheila Grainger

2015 -2016 Hazel Hedges  2016 -2017  Dot Boardman  2017-2018  Ruth Portway

2018 - 2019  Joan Styles    2019 - 2020  Elizabeth Lister

International Convention 2015 held in Copenhagen

An intrepid group of PDCs accompanied District Chairman Sheila Grainger (seated left)  to the International Inner Wheel Convention in Copenhagen, Denmark.  Pictured at their Gatwick Hotel prior to an early flight the next day: L to R:  Edna Bennett, Wendy Smith, Elizabeth Weaver, Elizabeth Jackson, Barbara Bingham and Elizabeth Martin (seated).  PDC Sheila Cragg took the photograph.  Their verdict on the Convention?  A great time had by all with new friendships forged and many old ones renewed!
6 PDC's and 1 DC At the Courtyard by Marriott 2015 Convention trip